STICKK to it!

29 01 2009

I’ve been at this whole 2-song-per-week thing for about a month, and I’m starting to get used to the routine… One thing that motivates me is a little account I’ve created at stickk.com.

This free resource/community holds me accountable. I get an email every Wednesday – or two emails,Β  or three emails – until I’ve logged in and reported my activity for the week: success or failure. I’ve been able to connect with other songwriters, and have seen a few of my “contacts” reach their goals.

Having an account at stickk.com makes me nag myself… I know Wednesday is coming, and I need to churn out some songs to get there.

If you sign up for an account, you can also opt to leave incentives for yourself… If you fail to reach your goal, you can set an amount and type of charity that YOUR money will go towards! Or you can set any type of consequence you want. Public humiliation, pay a friend, etc. Whatever fits you and motivates you!

For those of you who are serious about setting up personal accountability, this is an effortless resource that will nag you.

If you sign up, find me: mandyt.

Actions

Information

13 responses

29 01 2009
Russ

Looks like a neat tool. You can find me at stickk.com under the username: russhutto

Thanks for sharing Mandy!

29 01 2009
tam

you cant find me there cuz LORD knows i wouldnt figure out how to set up an acct.!

im so proud of you guys!! seriously!

29 01 2009
Russ

aww c’mon Tam. It took like 3 minutes to set it up.

Easy peasy.

29 01 2009
Jeff M. Miller

Ummm….stickk.com must hate me, because it redirects me to a page that says, “The page you’re looking for wasn’t found.”

Is that happening to anyone else?

29 01 2009
Russ

Jeff, just tried it. Works fine for me.

29 01 2009
David (dg4G)

Signed up – just have to make sure I don’t ignore those emails now…!

Maybe they should start a home visit service πŸ˜‰

29 01 2009
Jennifer

I’m there – under “persimmon”

this really makes you put your money where your mouth is, so to speak.

29 01 2009
mandythompson

OH FUN! Y’all come find me: mandythompson or mandyt whatever… I’ll be looking for ya!

29 01 2009
Mark Thomas

Dude, this sounds like a great idea to keep me on track. That’s why I’m so scared of it.

29 01 2009
tam

yup!

29 01 2009
JudiFree.com

Oh boy…I’m really good at ignoring reminders – but I’m willing to try it.

30 01 2009
Photoqueen

What a cool resource! I haven’t signed up…I’m already scared that I’m even on HERE. πŸ™‚

30 01 2009
tam

judi – me too!

pq – youre here! youre here! thats great πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

