Decompressing After a Writer’s Conference: Story [Part 2]

13 04 2009

Part 1 (Blogging to Writing) | Part 2 (Story) | Part 3 (Connection)

My genre is memoir. So at Mount Hermon this year, I decided to take the non-fiction morning workshop track.

I ended up getting stuck in room full of writers working on eschatology books, how-to’s teaching high school from a Christian worldview, and guides to working through the aftermath of divorce.  Not what I had in mind.

I just barely fit into the category of non-fiction because even though memoir is technically non-fiction, it should be written more with fiction elements in mind.  Story arc, climax, resolution, character development – all of these are almost as important as anything else.

Story.  On the first day of class, our instructor, Kay Marshall Strom, author of over 20 books, told us that my story is not the story.  My story is only an illustration of a universal truth.

Whatever story I am going to tell is not only a part of the monumental story of humanity, but it is just a vehicle for truths that God wants to tell through me.

Among other things, Kay writes about international issues in the Sudan, India and Indonesia.  She inspired me.  She makes me want to be a part of the community who is saying something.

My truths?  Hope.  Redemption.  Restoration.  My story?  You’ll have to wait for the book.

Sarah Markley blogs at sarahmarkley.com. She is the wife of Chad and the mother to two little girls and is convinced that she is living in the BEST DAYS of her life thus far. She runs, she writes and she works for her husband’s business, usually for free.

Actions

Information

8 responses

13 04 2009
mandythompson

Looking forward to this book, Sarah!

13 04 2009
tam

mmmm…SOOOO good! and next year…i AM going with you to this conference!

13 04 2009
Cee Lew

So true – our story is a meaningful expression of the reality of God’s truths which he needs shared.

I am loving reading all your writings Sarah.

Cee

14 04 2009
Sarah Markley

Mandy – Thanks! you’ll be one of the first.

Tam – planning on it friend.

Cee – thanks for you kind words!!

(sorry i’m a bit behind in commenting back – I’m out of my norm right now!)

14 04 2009
Mary @ Giving Up on Perfect

“My story is only an illustration of a universal truth.” What a great truth and reminder! Thanks for sharing what you learned, Sarah!

15 04 2009
Indian Lake Papa

Hopefully my “story” will be 365 days of Biblical truth – 30 to go!

16 04 2009
Decompressing After A Writer’s Conference: Connection [Part 3] « Our Creative Community

[…] Decompressing After A Writer’s Conference: Connection [Part 3] 16 04 2009 Part 1 (Blogging to Writing) | Part 2 (Story) […]

16 04 2009
Decompressing After a Writer’s Conference: Blogging to Writing « Our Creative Community

[…] This is OUR Creative Process Decompressing After a Writer’s Conference: Story [Part 2] […]

Leave a Reply

